Last reviewed: 9 October 2026. Fees and benefits checked against Axis Bank’s official credit card listing, the LIC card reward redemption terms, the LIC Signature card terms (revised 20 June 2025), the credit card Key Fact Statement (updated 17 September 2026) and the MITC.
Status update: the LIC Axis Signature credit card no longer appears in the line-up on Axis Bank’s official credit card page, so treat it as closed to new applicants. Axis still maintains its terms for existing holders, and the card keeps working as described below. If you want a new Axis card, the Flipkart Axis Bank credit card and the Axis Bank Select credit card are both on the bank’s current list.
The LIC Axis Signature credit card is a co-branded card for Life Insurance Corporation of India policyholders and agents. Its pitch is simple: no joining or annual fee, and extra reward points when you pay LIC premiums through LIC’s official payment channels. It suits existing holders who pay sizeable premiums each year and want to collect points on money they spend anyway.
Our scoring method is described on the how we rate credit cards, loans and deposits page.
LIC Axis Signature credit card: key facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Status | Not listed on Axis Bank’s current credit card page; existing cards remain active |
| Joining fee | Nil (listed as ₹0 for LIC credit cards) |
| Annual fee | Nil |
| Fee waiver | Not needed; the card has no annual fee |
| Reward rate | 2X reward points on LIC premiums paid through LIC’s official payment gateways; base rate not stated in the documents we checked |
| Redemption value | 1,000 points buy a ₹1,000 Amazon Pay e-gift card, roughly ₹1 per point on that option |
| Welcome benefit | None confirmed |
| Lounge access | Mentioned in Axis’s card page summary; visit limits not confirmed |
| Forex markup | 3.5% of the transaction value |
| Fuel surcharge waiver | Mentioned in Axis’s card page summary; terms not confirmed in the fee schedule |
| Best for | Existing holders paying LIC premiums each year |
GST at 18% applies to all charges. Points expire if they are not used within 12 months of being earned.
Spends that earn no points
Utilities and telecom, education, rent, wallet loads, government services, gold and jewellery, fuel, cash advances and repayments earn nothing. Since 20 June 2025 Axis identifies these by spend category rather than by merchant code. LIC premiums paid through third-party apps also miss out on the 2X rate.
What you would actually earn with the LIC Axis Signature credit card
Axis does not state the base earn rate in the documents we could read, so we cannot show a precise yearly total. What we can show is how much your points are worth and what it costs to use them.
Redemption values for Signature cardholders
- Amazon Pay e-gift card ₹1,000: 1,000 points, so ₹1 per point
- Amazon Pay e-gift card ₹5,000: 5,000 points, so ₹1 per point
- Axis Bank virtual gift card ₹1,000: 1,050 points, so about ₹0.95 per point
- MakeMyTrip e-voucher ₹2,000: 2,000 points, so ₹1 per point
The cost side
The card has no annual fee, so the only regular cost is a handling charge of ₹30 + GST, about ₹35, on each redemption request. Redeeming 5,000 points in one go for a ₹5,000 Amazon voucher gives ₹5,000 minus ₹35 = ₹4,965 net. Splitting the same points into five ₹1,000 vouchers costs five handling charges, about ₹177, and nets ₹4,823. Redeem in larger blocks.
Check your statement to see how many points each LIC premium earns, and use them within 12 months so they do not expire.
Pros and cons
Pros
- No joining fee and no annual fee.
- 2X points on LIC premiums paid through official LIC channels.
- Signature holders get better redemption rates than LIC Platinum holders: 1,000 points for a ₹1,000 Amazon voucher against 1,500.
- Low cost of ownership makes it easy to keep as a backup card.
Cons
- No longer listed for new applicants on Axis Bank’s site.
- Points expire after 12 months of non-use.
- ₹30 + GST handling fee on every redemption.
- Long list of excluded categories, including utilities, fuel and rent.
- LIC cards are outside the EDGE Rewards programme, so points cannot be pooled with other Axis cards.
What existing cardholders should know
Redeeming points
Redemptions are placed through Axis customer care on 1800 419 0064. E-vouchers arrive by SMS and email within 10 working days, and physical items within 21 working days. You can redeem up to 75 virtual gift cards in a financial year.
Paying premiums the right way
To earn the 2X rate, pay through LIC’s own premium payment gateway rather than a third-party wallet or app.
Fees and charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Finance charges | 3.75% a month (55.55% a year) |
| Late payment fee | Nil up to ₹500 due; ₹500 for ₹501 to ₹5,000; ₹750 for ₹5,001 to ₹10,000; ₹1,200 for ₹10,001 to ₹50,000; ₹1,300 above ₹50,000. An extra ₹100 applies after the minimum due is missed for two cycles in a row |
| Cash advance fee | 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500 |
| Forex markup | 3.5% |
| Over-limit fee | 2.5% of the over-limit amount, minimum ₹500 |
| Reward redemption fee | ₹30 + GST per request |
Eligibility and documents
The card was offered to LIC policyholders and agents. Since it is no longer on Axis Bank’s list, new eligibility only matters if the bank offers it to you directly. Axis generally asks for PAN, Aadhaar or another ID, address proof and income proof such as salary slips or ITR, along with a credit check. The documents we read did not give an income threshold.
How the LIC Axis Signature credit card compares
| Card | Joining / annual fee | ₹1,000 Amazon voucher costs | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| LIC Axis Signature | Nil / Nil | 1,000 points | Not on current list |
| LIC Axis Platinum | Nil / Nil | 1,500 points | Not on current list |
| Flipkart Axis Bank | ₹500 / ₹500 | Pays cashback instead | Current |
Between the two LIC cards, Signature gets more value per point. If you want a current card, the Flipkart Axis card pays straight cashback and waives its fee at ₹3.5 lakh spend. Browse more on our credit card reviews page.
Our verdict
As a free card, the LIC Axis Signature is worth keeping if you already have it and pay LIC premiums each year, provided you redeem points in large blocks before they expire. Anyone hunting for a new card, or wanting rewards on everyday categories like fuel and utilities, should look at Axis Bank’s current range instead.
How to apply
New applications are not listed on Axis Bank’s site. You can check the official LIC Axis Bank Signature card page for any change.
Frequently asked questions
Is the LIC Axis Signature credit card still available?
It no longer appears among the cards on Axis Bank’s official credit card page, so treat it as closed to new applicants. Existing cards continue to work.
Does the card have an annual fee?
No. Axis Bank’s Key Fact Statement lists LIC credit cards at ₹0 joining and ₹0 annual fee.
How do I earn extra points on LIC premiums?
Pay through LIC’s official premium payment gateways to get 2X points. Third-party apps do not qualify.
How long do reward points last?
Points expire if not used within 12 months of being earned.
What is the redemption fee?
₹30 plus GST for each redemption request.
This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice. Card terms change often; confirm the latest fees and benefits on the bank’s website before you apply.
